Finalists transforming New Zealand's construction industry

Women are making their mark on New Zealand’s construction sector with 39 finalists in the fourth annual Hays NAWIC Excellence Awards reflecting the outstanding contribution being made by women across the industry.

The awards, which will be held at the Auckland Town Hall on Friday 17th August, celebrate the achievements of women in construction along with honouring organisations which are actively working to redress the industry’s gender imbalance.

NAWIC president Jenny Parker describes the finalists as exceptionally talented role models who are showcasing the huge range of career opportunities for women in construction.

“With 60 entries this year it was very difficult to select the finalists from among so many exceptional women.  I am delighted and encouraged to see the growing impact women are having on New Zealand’s construction industry.

“The finalists are committed to excellence while giving back to society. We're thrilled to celebrate their success at our awards ceremony next month.”

The awards have six categories which cover a wide range of roles across the industry. The finalists in each category are:

The Helen Tippett Award – Gabrielle Bush (CPB Contractors Pty Ltd), Joanne Kelly (Pynenburg & Collins Architects Ltd), and Melanie McIver (Brick and Blocklayers Federation)
Tradeswoman of the Year – Alice Petuha (Richard Hull Builders Ltd), Jaleesa Julian (HG Leach Contractors), Olivia Ward (N. Hunt Construction) , Pip Buunk (Fulton Hogan Ltd), and Sarah Murray (Buildtech)

Professional Woman of the Year –  Alison Cadman (Dwell Housing Trust), Cherie Leckner (Fulton Hogan Ltd), Hannah Fletcher (Fletcher Construction), Heidi Johnston (Windowmakers),  Kate Loveridge (Fletcher Construction), Michelle Hoffmann (E.N Ramsbottom Ltd), Michelle Qu (Fletcher Construction), and Rosemary Killip (Building Networks NZ Ltd)

Outstanding Achievement in Design – Kate Macdonald (GHD), and Stephanie Thompson (Stantec)
Excellence in Construction Administration – Aleisha Walker (Forman Commercial Interiors), Emlyn Moore (Fletcher Construction), Fiona Woodcock (Brian Perry Civil), and Karen Yaxley (Nationwide Fire Protection)

Rising Star Award (office-based) -Dipal Raniga (AR & Associates Ltd), Elisapeta Heta (Jasmax), Frances Vessey (WSP Opus), Jaimie Whitehead (Dunning Thornton Consultants Ltd), and Priyani Madan (Arup)

Rising Star Award (site-based) -Amelia Gilbert-Milne (Brian Perry Civil), Cresilda Cross (Fletcher Construction), Elmira Direkz (Direkz Contractors Ltd), Hannah Woods (Brian Perry Civil), Papua Taumate (CPB Contractors), Aidan Bryers (Fletcher Construction), and Jemma Dutton (CPB Contractors).

Student/Apprentice Excellence Award – Dorota Samorow (European Stone Masons Ltd), Emma McIntyre (Elite Window Solutions), Jessica Curtis (Integrated Systems Design), Rachel Corbett (Martin Goulden Builders), and Tamsyn Settle (Leighs Construction)

Tickets for the 2018 Hays NAWIC Excellence Awards are available from Eventfinder -

For further information on the 2018 Hays NAWIC Excellence Awards and for interview opportunities please contact: 

NAWIC Communications Manager – Gina McKenzie – email:

1 comment (Add your own)

1. custom wrote:
Indian tablets for women .

Tue, 18 Sep 2018 @ 12:52 AM

Add a New Comment


Comment Guidelines: No HTML is allowed. Off-topic or inappropriate comments will be edited or deleted. Thanks.